Source: The Sunday Sun, November 1, 1959. (Images were added from the Library archive file by the webmaster.)
Township Honoring Architect
The Trustees of the Teaneck Public Library invite all residents of the township to the dedication of the south court of the library in memory of George Maxwell Cady at 11 a.m. Saturday, Nov. 7.
Mr. Cady, superintendent of Building from 1945 to 1955, was a resident of the township for 33 years before his death in 1955. Born in Bristol, Rhode Island, he studied art at the Rhode Island School of Design and was a graduate of the University of Pennsylvania School of Architecture. During his long residence in the community, Mr. Cady displayed great interest in community affairs, serving as a member of the Board of Education, the Planning Board and the Adjustment Board. He was also a past president of the Rotary Club.
The Teaneck Library, the Central Fire House, the Cedar Lane Fire House, the Police Headquarters, the Teaneck War Memorial, the Teaneck Woman's Club and other buildings which Mr. Cady designed in Teaneck stand as examples of Mr. Cady's deep artistic sense.
Paul Volcker, former township manager, originally sponsored the South Court. Mr. Volcker felt that Teaneck should have a permanent memorial to Mr. Cady's appreciation of fine architectural design and beauty.
The ceremony to dedicate the beautifully landscaped court will be attended by the library trustees, the township council, former library trustees who worked with Mr. Cady on the library building program and Mrs. George M. Cady and her family.
Remarks will be made by Mayor Matthew Feldman and Allen A. Walsh, president of the library trustees. Mrs. Cady will respond and unveil the plaque.