New Bridge, 1888

Foot of Old New Bridge Road

Sandwiched between a park and a busy Bergen County thoroughfare is the hamlet of New Bridge Landing, one of Teaneck's two oldest settlements. Though nothing remains of the village founded in the late 1600s on the bank of the Hackensack River below New Milford, a group of buildings from the past 200 years stands along Old New Bridge Road. These structures, and the now closed Victorian truss bridge which once provided commerce for the area, remind us of the scale and character of 19th century Teaneck. The oldest building is probably the small general store, but a historical marker reminds us that nearby stood the 1735 New Bridge Inn, a landmark for some 200 years before it was burned in the middle part of this century.

The bridge itself is not only picturesque, but has historical significance as one of the few standing Pony Truss Iron bridges in New Jersey. It spans 110 feet at a key bend in the river, where on the other bank stand outbuildings of the historic Steuben homestead in River Edge. The structure boasts intact tension rods, iron webbing, a turntable, plank deck, wheels and gears, and concrete encasement. Paradoxically, though its name suggests a recent chronology, the present structure is of late 19th century date, and was replaced by a newer highway bridge to the north in this century. The altered traffic pattern on New Bridge Road leaves the older span unappreciated.